Joint Letter to COG-WMATA re Table for LT Metro Funding

Coalition for Smarter Growth | Sierra Club | ATU689 | Chesapeake Climate Action Network | JustEconomics | League of Women Voters – DC | League of Women Voters – MD | Washington Area Bicyclist Association

Charles Allen, Chair
Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
777 N. Capitol Street NE, Suite 300
Washington, DC 20002

Paul Smedberg, Chair
Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority
300 7th Street, SW
Washington, DC 20004

Dear Chair Allen and Chair Smedberg:

The undersigned groups commend regional elected officials and staff for identifying $480 million in funding to support WMATA FY25 operations. Our non-profit and labor organizations worked to support this additional funding, as we did during the successful effort to win $500 million in capital funding in 2018. However, we all recognize that the region needs to once and for all identify a long-term, sustainable, reliable, dedicated funding solution for WMATA. 

While our organizations were not invited into the funding discussions convened in 2023 by the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments, we are encouraged to see that COG Board Chair Charles Allen, in his April 1 letter to WMATA Board Chair Paul Smedberg, has called for ensuring all relevant stakeholders have a seat at the table. Therefore, we write to express our desire to contribute to the discussions going forward on a long-term, dedicated funding solution for WMATA.

Collectively, we represent thousands of residents and workers in the Washington, DC region. Our members and those we serve depend on Metrorail and Metrobus to get to jobs and services. We look forward to the opportunity to participate in open, informative, and robust discussions aimed at identifying a long-term funding solution as soon as possible. 


Stewart Schwartz
Executive Director
Coalition for Smarter Growth

Rebekah Whilden
Deputy Director, Clean Transportation for All
Sierra Club 

Matthew Girardi
Political and Communications Director

Jamie DeMarco and Victoria Higgins
Maryland and Virginia Directors
Chesapeake Climate Action Network

Rick Rybeck
Founder and Principal

Barbara Zia
League of Women Voters – DC

Linda Kohn
League of Women Voters — MD

Seth Grimes
Washington Area Bicyclist Association